Novotel Wien Hauptbahnhof - Family & Business trip hotel - Sustainability


Sustainability

Environmentally friendly action has always been a major focus of our internationally active hotel group.
Environmental department was launched back in 1994 and has been continuously developed since then.

The new awards for the hotel combination of Novotel and ibis Wien Hauptbahnhof serve both as confirmation of this and motivation to continue focusing on sustainability in practice.

“By acting in a way that is as environmentally friendly as possible in all areas, we would like to do our bit to protect Earth, conserve its resources and prolong its life,” says Thomas Wacker, Cluster General Manager Novotel & ibis Wien Hauptbahnhof.

  • Austrian Green Label
    The Austrian Green Label is a state-approved seal of quality for environmental friendliness, with criteria including thermal insulation, energy efficiency, or water use. It is awarded to products, tourism companies, educational institutions, and “green” meetings & events. The eco-label serves as an important guide for consumers, motivating business people to be more sustainable in their actions. Over 300 tourism business in Austria already carry the seal of quality.
  • EU Eco Label
    “Ecolabel” is a cross-border eco-label, with the aim of providing a standardized way of labeling environmentally friendly, durable, and high-quality products and services. In Austria it is awarded by the Ministry of the Environment in accordance with guidelines agreed by the EU Member States. In tourism, for example, the conditions for obtaining this label include using environmentally friendly, regional food and making responsible use of water and energy. Some 36 hotels in Austria have been awarded the Ecolabel.
  • Platinum award for sustaible buildings
    The hotel, which opened in summer 2017, is characterized by the particularly sustainable method used for its construction, enabling the buildings to be used in an energy-efficient and resource-saving manner. Specific examples: Rainwater is collected for watering and cleaning the courtyard. Water-saving fittings are installed in the bathrooms of the hotel rooms. This building was awarded the platinum certificate of the German Sustainable Building Council (DGNB) in 2017 for its commitment to sustainability.
  • Green Meeting Certificate
    The aim is to become an official licensee for Green Meeting & Green Events by January 2020, enabling us to officially certify every meeting, congress and other event as a Green Meeting. We are delighted to be able to offer our guests an effective way of working to ensure sustainability.

Follow us


Stay in touch and connected to all the news and happenings.

  • facebook
  • instagram
Book a room
Book a room
close

Novotel Wien Hauptbahnhof - Hotel für Familien & Geschäftsreisen - Nachhaltigkeit


Nachhaltigkeit

Umweltfreundliches Handeln ist der international agierenden Hotelgruppe seit jeher ein großes Anliegen.
Bereits 1994 wurde eine Umweltabteilung eingeführt und fortlaufend weiterentwickelt.

Die neuen Auszeichnungen für die Hotelcombo Novotel und ibis Wien Hauptbahnhof sind Bestätigung und Motivation zugleich, um weiterhin auf gelebte Nachhaltigkeit zu setzen.

Durch ein möglichst umweltfreundliches Handeln in allen Bereichen möchten wir unseren Beitrag für Mutter Erde leisten, um ihre Ressourcen zu schonen und ihr Leben zu verlängern“, erklärt Thomas Wacker, Cluster General Manager Novotel & ibis Wien Hauptbahnhof.

  • Österreichisches Umweltzeichen
    Beim Österreichischen Umweltzeichen handelt es sich um ein staatlich geprüftes Gütesiegel für Umweltfreundlichkeit. Die Kriterien umfassen unter anderem Wärmedämmung, Energieeffizienz oder Wassernutzung. Es wird an Produkte, Tourismusbetriebe, Bildungseinrichtungen und Green Meetings & Events vergeben. Konsumenten dient das Umweltzeichen als wichtige Orientierungshilfe. Wirtschaftstreibende werden dadurch zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit motiviert. In Österreich tragen bereits mehr als 300 Tourismusbetriebe das Gütesiegel.
  • EU Eco Label
    Das „Ecolabel“ ist ein grenzüberschreitendes Umweltgütesiegel. Es dient dazu, umweltfreundliche, langlebige und hochwertige Produkte und Dienstleistungen einheitlich zu kennzeichnen. In Österreich wird es nach von den EU-Mitgliedstaaten vereinbarten Richtlinien vom Umweltministerium vergeben. Im Tourismus gehören etwa der Einsatz von ökologischen, regionalen Lebensmitteln sowie der verantwortungsvolle Umgang mit Wasser und Energie zu den Voraussetzungen. In Österreich sind aktuell rund 36 Hotels mit dem Ecolabel ausgezeichnet.
  • Platin Auszeichnung für nachhaltiges Bauen
    Das im Sommer 2017 eröffnete Hotel zeichnet sich durch eine besonders nachhaltige Bauweise aus. Durch die gewählte Bausubstanz lassen sich die Gebäude energieeffizient und ressourcenschonend nutzen. Konkrete Beispiele: Für Bewässerung und Hofreinigung wird Regenwasser gesammelt. In den Bädern der Hotelzimmer sind wassersparende Armaturen eingebaut. Für sein Engagement wurde das Haus 2017 bereits mit dem Platin-Zertifikat der Deutschen Gesellschaft für nachhaltiges Bauen (DGNB) ausgezeichnet.
  • Green Meeting Zertifizierung
    Es wird angestrebt mit Jänner 2020 offizieller Lizenznehmer für Green Meeting & Green Events zu werden. Diese Prüfung ermöglicht uns dann, jedes Meeting, jeden Kongress und jede andere Veranstaltung offiziell Green Meeting zu zertifizieren. Wir freuen uns auf diesem Weg unseren Gästen eine unkomplizierte Möglichkeit zu bieten, sich für Nachhaltigkeit zu engagieren.

Folgen Sie uns


Bleiben Sie in Kontakt und auf dem Laufenden über alle Neuigkeiten und Ereignisse.

  • facebook
  • instagram
  • nachhaltigkeit
  • nachhaltigkeit
  • nachhaltigkeit
  • nachhaltigkeit
  • nachhaltigkeit
Zimmer buchen
Zimmer buchen
close